

All Sherritt Director Nominees Re-elected with over 95% Shareholder Support

TORONTO, May 12, 2015 – Sherritt International Corporation ("Sherritt" or the "Corporation") (TSX:S) is pleased to announce the voting results of the Annual Meeting of Shareholders held earlier today. Total shares represented in person or by proxy were 159,520,553 or 54.3% of shares issued and outstanding. The non-binding advisory resolution addressing the Corporation's approach to executive compensation, more commonly known as "Say on Pay", received a 93.7% favourable vote, and voting for the eight individual members of the Board of Directors was as follows:

Nominee	Total Votes For	% for	Total Votes Withheld	% withheld
Harold (Hap) Stephen	149,464,656	95.47	7,087,044	4.53
Timothy Baker	151,091,700	96.51	5,460,000	3.49
R. Peter Gillin	149,023,151	95.19	7,528,549	4.81
Sir Richard Lapthorne	150,184,122	95.93	6,367,578	4.07
Adrian Loader	150,087,967	95.87	6,463,733	4.13
Edythe A. (Dee) Marcoux	149,173,333	95.29	7,378,367	4.71
Lisa Pankratz	149,185,971	95.30	7,365,729	4.70
David V. Pathe	149,924,326	95.77	6,627,374	4.23

The full Report of Voting Results has been filed on SEDAR at www.sedar.com.

About Sherritt

Sherritt is a world leader in the mining and refining of nickel from lateritic ores with projects and operations in Canada, Cuba, and Madagascar. The Corporation is the largest independent energy producer in Cuba, with extensive oil and power operations across the island. Sherritt licenses its proprietary technologies and provides metallurgical services to mining and refining operations worldwide. The Corporation's common shares are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol "S".

For further information, please contact:

Investor Relations Telephone: 416-935-2451 Toll-Free: 1-800-704-6698 Email: <u>investor@sherritt.com</u> <u>www.sherritt.com</u>